When My Open Spaces Are Walled-In

* The Wednesday challenge carried me the way of the sonnet

When walls break into my open spaces,
and my pen runs dry as my heart within
blood nor ink could fill infinite vases,
and my heart knows more walls than its own skin.
When I behold, upon culture’s canvas,
beauty of God’s touch and peace of his voice
and think I my never know this surplus
nor have such reason or aim to rejoice!
And when I feel…nothing…of Him this hour
but a distance filled with restricting walls,
my heart feigns for demolishing power.
When from across the distance a Voice calls.
Of this distance I stand alone in scope
of what my pallid heart now knows as hope.

About PC

Bedraggled Speaker.Writer.Pastor.Poet
This entry was posted in Challenge, Poems, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to When My Open Spaces Are Walled-In

  1. Jodi MacArthur says:

    “my heart knows more walls than its own skin.” Very nice. This is a different kind of love poem. I appreciate all the different perspectives, thoughts, and people here on UDPS. I was reading on your blog. Are you a youth pastor?

    • PC says:

      Not really a youth pastor per say. I am at a large church and I am a college pastor. I have been speaker for a long time but right now college pastor is kind of home base of sorts

  2. soulintention: signed .............bkm says:

    this is wonderful….”when I feel… nothing …of Him this hour” oh is that not truth – when we need the word faith the most……blessings….bkm

  3. shakira says:

    PC , you remarkable prolific poet , BRAVO!
    you must DREAM in poetry too, I bet.
    hugs
    shakira

Leave a Reply

