Three Painful Turns of This Little Planet by Gally Lines

Three Painful Turns of This Little Planet
Poem by Christine Lines, © 2008

Three painful turns
___of this little planet.

I stepped out of the car
___and crossed over the divide.
From the other side of the street,
___my neck fell limp,
_____my head fell back,
_______my eyes only had the strength
_________to watch you leave.

I ached already.
I told myself not to succumb
___so quickly to your absence.
So cold.
The heat of my world,
____________my star,
____________fading.
Only the chill clung to me,
___choking, piercing, draining;
_____the icy fangs of an incorporeal vampire
_______called loneliness–
_________the unloved lover.

In the dim winter morning,
___the sun struggled to break the horizon,
_____my once confident strides
_______became feeble, wasteful, useless.
_________My head bowed down to oblivion
___________and watched my feet
_____________as they advanced towards
_______________nothingness.

The professors’ lectures held emptiness.
___The music spoke dissonance.
_____The job rewarded with discord.
_______Going home meant crawling back
_________to a dark corner of the world,
___________the once ethereal rooms overflowing
_____________with love, passion, and security
_______________reduced to worthless objects–
_________________destructible, replaceable, mortal.

Lament.
Through the rain splattered windshield,
___in eyes straining to find purpose,
_____the sky inundated sorrow,
_______the clouds fell from the heavens,
_________dropping to the ground in tears.
___________Only the red haze lingered,
_____________drifting aimlessly
_______________as the world slowly turned.

Under the cold sheets of a wide, empty bed,
___I can only close my eyes
_____and try to see your face again,
_______try to find that spot on your pillow
_________that still cradles your inimitable scent.
___________How long will it be
_____________before I can no longer imagine
_______________the warmth of your body next to mine?

I shiver alone tonight.
___But I remember your heat,
_____the light in your eyes,
_______the dream in our hearts.
_________I shall dream of you,
___________clutching memories of you tightly,
_____________deep in the warmest part left
_______________of the heart that belongs only to you,
_________________waiting for you to come back to me
___________________in three painful turns
_____________________of this little planet.

+X+  Gally

About Gally Lines ~ LestISmiteThee.wordpress.com

LestISmiteThee.wordpress.com ~ Aspiring author Gally Lines explores writing & other art/geeky/travel/badassness
This entry was posted in Poems, Poetry, UDPS and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Three Painful Turns of This Little Planet by Gally Lines

  1. Lovely form Gally, and some cool phrases – I like “red haze lingered”

  2. Jodi MacArthur says:

    I agree with Sean, so many cool phrases you use to evoke emotion. My favorite was this
    “So cold.The heat of my world, my star, fading.”

    I’ve never heard heartache explained this way before, but it truly does feel like this. I like the way you perceive. Very nice. Looking forward to reading more of your work.

    • Gally says:

      Wow, thank you so much! It makes me very happy to receive such positive feedback on my writing. I definitely look forward to sharing more poems and I’m honored to be part of UDPS!

  3. Pingback: [Writing] Three Painful Turns of This Little Planet « .:Lest I Smite Thee:.

  4. Pingback: [Writing] Three Painful Turns of This Little Planet « .:Lest I Smite Thee:.

Leave a Reply

