Angst (flash)

If I don’t explore
I can’t get lost

So which is better?
Sight/unseen
Sleep/no dream
Traffic/missed
Never been f/ing kissed?

If I don’t play
I can’t lose.

Someone told me too late.

__________________________

[One of those days, I guess?]

About Margo Rowder

By trade, I'm Social Media Manager for the Television Academy, which taps into my love for filmmaking, design, and storytelling. My latest personal projects include a YA speculative fiction manuscript, 30 Decibels, and a new (not YA) romantic dramedy called SUPPORT.
This entry was posted in Charter Membership, Poems, Poetry, UDPS and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Angst (flash)

  1. Pingback: Angst (flash) (via Undead Poets Society) « Margoblog

  2. Kavita says:

    Awww… well, some days it’s this, and some days, that!
    That way, you will see both sides to it 🙂 At least that’s my philosophy… who knows who’s right/wrong anyway! 🙂

    But I sincerely hope all’s well with you, girl…
    Best Regards, and have a great weekend!

  3. Thanks, Kavita. Both sides for sure. But seeing them equally is sometimes a struggle in itself. Arresting.
    (I’m glad this was a flash – otherwise, I probably would’ve let it slide without getting it down!)

  4. imaginationzombie says:

    This is a great flash. Has so much emotion. One of your best, Margo. I hope this is what you put in your YA, because everyone can relate to how you feel.

    In my opinion (and this is just mine), if its a dream, love, something you truly believe in, do it and if you skin your knee, your knee will heal, and you’ll have learned something. Life is a risk in and of itself, and if we don’t risk ourselves, we will have failed.

    ps. Never too late.

  5. Tim Keeton says:

    If I don’t explore
    I can’t get lost – yes, but you also can’t find/be found.

    So which is better?
    Sight/unseen – do you always have to see it to believe it?
    Sleep/no dream – don’t fear the reaper…
    Traffic/missed – if you aren’t on the highway, you can’t take that crazy, winding, totally awe-inspiring, detour through the back roads, now can you?
    Never been f/ing kissed? – just do it! (do it ’til you’re satisfied)

    If I don’t play
    I can’t lose. – true, but then again, you can’t win, if you aren’t in the game.

    Someone told me too late. – well, I’m telling you, now…

    How very undead of you…

  6. deadpoet88 says:

    Lovely poem. Really gets you thinking. I always think it’s better to just do everything and face the music later. At least we will have experiences to look back to.

    Loved the lines:

    “If I don’t play
    I can’t lose.”

    But isn’t losing worth is so the next time you play, you can win?

    Personally I feel it’s always better to take a few risks, someone said, “We only regret the things we didn’t do.”, I believe in the same 🙂

    Great poem!

    • Thank you, deadpoet. 🙂
      I think you’re right in the startling difference between regretting what we do and what we don’t. Somehow, regretting what we don’t do is more commonplace – probably because we’re scared we’d regret doing it anyway.

      (Ugh. Circles.)

Leave a Reply

