Fib Cleav(age) Flash Challenge: Vampire. Seduction. Our fate.

Vampire
a
wraiths
shadow
awaits me
our matrimony
in Salem’s tomb. Death becomes life.

Seduction
dark
kiss
seals our
fate among
the stars. Embrace, breathe,
sup, our hungry sighs devoured.

Our fate
a………………………………………………………………….dark
wraiths………………………………………………………..kiss
shadow………………………………………………………..seals our
awaits me………………………………………………….…fate among
our matrimony……………………………………………. the stars. Embrace, breathe,
in Salem’s tomb. Death becomes life………………sup, our hungry sighs. Devoured.

About Jodi MacArthur

I write omnivorous fiction.
This entry was posted in Poems, Poetry, UDPS, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Fib Cleav(age) Flash Challenge: Vampire. Seduction. Our fate.

  1. Jodi MacArthur says:

    Other than the last line (I miscounted syllables) this is a flash poem. I’m so excited guys, I’ve never written anything like this before. My poetry (other than haiku) has always sucked. You are all so inspiring, creative, and encouraging! I love this site.

  2. love the final lines on all three parts of this. Really excited too to see what else we (or everybody else) inspires you to write.

  3. Tim Keeton says:

    Jodi,

    All I can say is it was worth the wait. Very nicely done. You accepted the challenge and rocked it!

    our matrimony / in Salem’s tomb
    and
    Embrace, breathe, / sup, our hungry sighs devoured

    Beautiful.

    Thanks for the site love. That’s why I created it – to be what it is becoming: a home for (undead)poets.

    Thank you for sharing this. I agree with Geoff: I can’t wait to see what else waits within…

  4. Jodi MacArthur says:

    Thanks so much to you both. ❤ ❤

  5. this is a very *satisfying* post, which might sound odd, but that’s what it does for me:)

  6. I don’t think I’ve ever seen vampires look so pretty without being all glittery. This is deep stuff. I’m glad you shared it with me and all these others.

  7. I think you use “Devoured” (or some hint of that) in everything you write. You are too scary. Most excellent.
    s

  8. “our hungry sighs devoured”?
    Damn, girl. This blog ain’t big enough for two sensual Texan poets.

    Just kidding, of course. I can’t believe you combined the challenges – so brave! And the result is so lovely. Keep going, Jodi! Can’t wait to see what’s next.

    • Jodi MacArthur says:

      Texas is big enough for both of our diva’s glow. I thought you lived in Chicago?
      Thank you for your kind words, Margo.

      • I’m a Chicagoan now, but was born and raised in Plano, TX. Moved in 2000, just after college. (For better or worse, I’m still some sort of Texan…)

  9. M. says:

    The use of the word “wraiths” compels me to imagine ghastly things, shrouded in mystery as much as decay. I suppose decay is improper because we are forever. Forever the way we were.

    Truth? Perhaps. Most likely not.

    Regardless, a pleasure.

    -M.

    • Jodi MacArthur says:

      Thank you for your thoughts, M. When I think of Vampires, I think of Bram Stoker’s Dracula. For me, nothing will EVER beat that image in my mind. The Dracula in the book is at times very wraith like, at least in my mind, and that is why I chose that word.

      Decay never entered my mind. The tomb is mere metaphor of passing from one life into the next. From mortal to immortal. A sort of marriage between the two.

      Appreciate your thoughts. 😉

  10. bryan says:

    This is very cool. I wrote a mirrored poem for Jingles Thursday Poet Rally 18.
    See if you like it… http://www.secretbasketofeggs.com/words-of-a-madman/mocking-reflection

    -bryan

Leave a Reply

