Mother’s Day: Of course You Would Call

So guarded, I answered the phone
as it was mother’s special day
not yet a word since you have flown
did that incident made you grow?
all was well you threw that stone
decided to leave me alone
with knarly cut I could not stop
the bleeding, like a butcher’s chop.

Hesitating, I said hello
heart pounding fast, skipping a beat
air left the room, so hard to breath
you asked,” This fine day, how are you?”
answered, “Thank you, I’m fine indeed.”
knowing you, I would not concede
and ever admit to the bleed
nor would I reduce to anger
I know that it would only feed.

Room closed in, dark edge in my eyes
straining lungs begging for some life
I sat listening to hopeful lies
with your goals to be wanted back in
manipulate with skillful knife
a skill you own, honed on my soul.
true rebellion your only goal.

But of course, I knew you would call
so friendly on that mother’s day
when hearts reminiscing the pain
vulnerable voice, strong though I stay
you speak announcing your campaign.
testing the waters under bridge

Wild racing thoughts yet I constrain;
nor did I ask you to explain.

-TheMsLvh 5-8-11

About California Ink in Motion

Poetry gives me the voice I sometimes can't find. Please enjoy your visit to my little poetry site. http://themslvh.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Poems, Poetry, UDPS, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

