Alone At Night

Shadows shift and slither
coiling in endless empty corners
like phantom snakes

The nonexistent breeze breathes
and the curtains billow slightly outward
whispering a promise

The skin on the back of my neck tingles
every hair standing on end
because I feel the presence

If I don’t move
If I don’t breathe
If I don’t look
it’s all in my mind.

About Lisa Gail Green

Lisa Gail Green would definitely have a werewolf for a pet if she weren't allergic. Visit her at LisaGailGreen.com to learn more about SOUL CROSSED (Feb. 25, 2015) and her other work.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Alone At Night

  1. belladonna23 says:

    yea… i know the feeling.
    here’s one i just wrote:
    http://belladonna23.wordpress.com/2011/01/21/the-pages/

  2. lisagailgreen says:

    Belladonna – I really enjoyed your poem! Very nice. Thanks for the comment.

  3. “If I don’t move
    If I don’t breathe
    If I don’t look
    it’s all in my mind.”

    the last stanza is amazing. it concludes the poem perfectly 🙂 xx

  4. Raven says:

    Talk about putting someone in the moment…nice!

  5. lisagailgreen says:

    Raven – very sweet critique, thank you!

  6. Devin Murphy says:

    Would make good lyrics for a song. Love the imagery.

  7. lisagailgreen says:

    Cool! Too bad I can’t write music!

Leave a Reply

