Forever?

Seven letters.
A word with many meanings;
Forever.
But what is forever?
We say forever,
Like we know what we’re doing.
“I’ll love you forever.”
I have one question,
And please if you may,
Answer me honestly.
How long is forever?

Forever.
Seven letters.
A word with meanings…
Forever.
Because forever is what we make it.
A day to a year,
Or maybe honestly,
Forever.

Forever is a word,
That to it’s sayer,
Gains or loses,
The meaning it may rightfully,
Or should rightfully have.
Forever is now to be taken lightly,
Now since we diminished it.
We stole it’s meaning.
Replacing it with our feelings.
Our moods;
Ready to change at the point of pain.

Forever isn’t forever anymore.
Just as we say love,
When we mean use.
“I’ll love you forever”
Now translated by us,
“I’ll use you until I’m finished.”
But oh, how much nicer it sounds,
As “I’ll love you forever.”
Forever?

Could you love me forever?
For real?
Could you care about me,
With my best interests,
Until the end of time,
And not just for when,
You grow tired,
And no longer feel like,
Dealing with my trials and errors.
For I promise there are many.
Forever?

Forever is a word I hate.
Seven letters arranged in our liking.
The time we choose,
The fate we make.
Forever;
A word of many meanings.
Redefined to now defy,
It’s natural meaning;
Forever.

About Robin Elizabeth

My name is Robin Elizabeth and I'm 21. I do not create with my own ability, but with the gift God has given me.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

