Happy Halloween My Undead Lovelies!

“Play With Me”

In the basement
Down the hall
I keep a door, a secret wall
At the stroke of midnight
When the rats come out to play
Its where I like to steal away

In a pot
Thick as steel
I keep a healthy
Delectable meal

Tongue of hunchback
Finger of girl
Lock of hair
Pig’s tail whirl

All are magic
All are fun
I like them all
Every one

The most magic of all
You may want to know
Is not of earlobe nor of toe

It is my eye
Kept in a jar
Pickled no less
I have no scar

If you’re ever in town
Late at night
Swing your old limbs in
I won’t bite

We’ll drink some tea
We’ll play a game of sneak
You shall hide and I will seek

Hide behind that secret hall
Down in the basement
Behind the wall

Now shush…
This won’t hurt much
No not at all

Happy Halloween everyone. I’ve missed you all!

***originally published at The New Flesh.

About Jodi MacArthur

I write omnivorous fiction.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Happy Halloween My Undead Lovelies!

  1. Jingle says:

    lovely poem on Halloween.

  2. Jingle says:

    http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/10/31/halloween-party-at-jingle-poetry-monday-poetry-potluck-tomorrow/

    Happy Halloween to you.
    Hope to see you at our poetry potluck Halloween party tonight. Post a poem on Halloween, or share an old poem unrelated to the theme, link in as soon as we are open, that’s how you get the best result of feedback.
    Feel free to take any awards from this post, enjoy!
    xxx

    I wish you well.

  3. deadpoet88 says:

    Wow, so chilling! Sent shivers down my spine. Perfect for Halloween!

    Happy Halloween!

  4. Tim Keeton says:

    Jodi,

    I like earl grey…aiyeeee!

    Rhyme on! (You can let me out, now, OK? This isn’t funny anymore…)
    (Thus whimpered the Undead)

  5. Totally scary. Totally. Basements, secret doors.
    Sean

Leave a Reply

