What Would It Be Like?

Have you ever wondered,
What things would look like,
If we actually opened our eyes?
Have you ever thought about,
What life could be like,
If we were honest with our tries?

Because I’m honestly sick,
Of being told I’m not enough,
It makes it hard to realize that’s not true.
And I’m honestly annoyed with,
Being shown what I should be like,
Because I don’t do things the way they do.

Maybe if we stopped pushing,
If we stopped lying about ourselves,
We’d all be able to be ourselves without guilt.
Maybe if we stopped insulting,
If we stopped abusing words,
People’s courage wouldn’t be torn but rather built.

Have you ever wondered,
What people would feel like,
If we were loving one another regardless?
Have you ever wondered,
What acceptance could feel like,
If we were at least a little bit selfless?

I’m sick of these lies.
These walls we all have built.
So that no one can see who we really are.
Because these lies,
And these walls we have built,
Will keep us dead and never getting very far.

About Robin Elizabeth

My name is Robin Elizabeth and I'm 21. I do not create with my own ability, but with the gift God has given me.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What Would It Be Like?

  1. alienhippy says:

    Hello friend,
    Your God inspired verse has spoken to my heart. The words spoken through you are exactly as I felt as a Teen. You are Awesome and amazing, fearfully and wonderfully made. He will use you in great ways.
    I am an adult who also pens for God, He speaks through me and uses my Aspergers Syndrome/dyslexia and ADHD as a strength. When this world only sees what it wants.
    I am so thankful that you share your revelations you will help so many.
    God bless you. xxx

  2. Devin Murphy says:

    Wonderful poem with a wonderful message. I also right and have written stuff like this. Looking foreword to reading more from you. Keep this good stuff coming.

  3. Joe Suzz says:

    i wonder that everyday.

    A very honest post. thx for sharing.

Leave a Reply

