New Bosnia

“Jesus love me”
she says
sharing the news
that she is expecting.

“I am blessed”
she repeats,
constantly,
when things go
her way.

“He loves you too”
she says,
as she prays for me
because I say “fuck”.

“Jesus loves me”
she says,
her arms
still cradling the
bloody sheets.

She is silent
when her prayers
go unanswered
and she questions
if the right words
were said.

The love
of the Lord
is her comfort.

Wrapped in that comfort;
her God,
her Lord,
her heavenly father
expelled the child
from her womb
and still she prays.

“Jesus loves me”
she says,
as she gets high
and reads her verses.

She prays for a good day
and when I say
mine is bad
she blesses me
because her God
has obviously
blessed her so.

About Fatesjoke

You can now find me and my stuff at www.fatesjoke.com
This entry was posted in Poems, Poetry, UDPS and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New Bosnia

  1. Kavita says:

    Aahh.. this faith!
    Makes me wonder… “really?!”

    Well written!! Kinda scary, but so realistic!!

  2. Raven says:

    Agreed…I will never understand blind faith. The poem is very well written.

  3. Fatesjoke03 says:

    Thank you both. This piece is actually written with a person I know in mind and it is very much a true series of events. The title comes from a city in Northern California, well my nickname for the city anyway.

Leave a Reply

