One Last Thought

I’m far too afraid,
That you’re missing the point.
And I’m not so sure,
That you understand a thing.
I’ve been talking for hours,
And you’ve yet to notice,
I haven’t said a word,
About what was addressed,
When we called this meeting,
And said to express,
Every dying question,
That burned in our hearts.
I’ve never been good,
At speaking my mind,
I could only write,
Only rhyme words and hope,
That some how,
The meaning I had intended,
Had escaped my thoughts,
Into a poem,
And into your heart,
To let you know,
That I’m falling apart.
Yet this condescending line,
Fell hours ago,
When I put out my hand,
And you pushed it away.
I cried for what seemed,
At least in my mind,
An eternity that night,
Before I let the tears,
Hold my eyes shut tight,
And the sleep over took me,
Before the crying,
Had broken through.
And one last thought,
Now echoes through my mind,
Whispering softly,
All you need to do is ask.
You just need to pray.
And I promise you…
It will always,
One day,
Be okay.
About Robin Elizabeth

My name is Robin Elizabeth and I'm 21. I do not create with my own ability, but with the gift God has given me.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to One Last Thought

  1. alienhippy says:

    Wow….this is wonderful. You sound just like me. I hope you don’t mind if I link to this poem for one of my future posts. Absolutely bloody brilliant, I applaud you. God Bless. x

  2. Kavita says:

    This was lovely!!!
    Just a little reassurance can go such a long way.. no?
    Wonderfully expressed, my friend… KUDOS!!!

  3. deadpoet88 says:

    Beautiful, so beautiful. Love the passion and sadness. I also often feel that I can only write what I feel, but words fail me when they must be spoken. Lovely poem, thank you for sharing!

  4. Very beautiful, I love the sadness portrayed within this wonderfully written poem =D

Leave a Reply

