Deja Vu

old creaking joints
skin drawn tight
across skinny bones

lips once soft, smooth
pulled slightly apart
reveal yellowed teeth

hideous form caught in time
indurated, it blinks while dreaming
of tea party’s and lacy pink dresses

feeble, mind dull, it stops and grins again
my face, it’s face slid from it’s once firm place
a face that shadows me

useless, feeble, slow when once I know
yes, once I know I ran deer footed
and laughed, laughed out loud

when once I wore those lacy pink dresses
and danced the night away
trailing soft summer flowers

About Cassiopeia Rises

I am an artist and a poet writing and living in NYC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Deja Vu

  1. We’re all getting there, aren’t we? young at first, than matured and finally old, looking back in nostalgia. but there’s always a new kind of dream waiting around the corner. thanks.

  2. Kavita says:

    Oh gosh!! I loved the way this poem flowed… It was haunting, in a way…
    With the bursts of suspense, and hints of some odd purity of some kind..
    It was really a delight to read!

  3. deadpoet88 says:

    Ah, the horrors of growing old…but sadly all of us have to someday. Very dark and haunting poem, but very well written and very meaningful. Great work!

  4. Cassiopeia Rises says:

    GP, thanks for your comments. I think growing old is a part of life as is death. You can’t have one with out the other. Still ,it is both a waste and a great black sorrow.

    Melanie

  5. Cassiopeia Rises says:

    Much thanks my friend for your comments. My mind always see the glass have empty but sometimes my soul see a light at the end.

    Melanie

  6. Cassiopeia Rises says:

    DP88, thank you for reading this poem. Yes we all must pay the price of in the end although the soul dreams of much more. Does the spark within fade or live?

    Melanie

  7. Wonderful, vivid imagery :3 Great work!

Leave a Reply

