Moonlight

~*~*~

The bells ring in the distance,
Night has fallen.
The moon plays hide and seek
With the whimsical clouds.

A howl can be heard,
Shattering the silence.
As the rays of the silvery orb
Fall softly to the ground.

A single thread of moonlight
Creeps through the windowpane.
I feel a twitching in my fingers,
Now is the time to transform.

The senses sharpen,
The mind becomes a hazy daze.
I can smell flesh and blood,
Now is the time to kill…

~*~*~

This  is my first attempt at horror poetry (is that what one would call it?).

About deadpoet88

I talk a lot...I write and think a lot too!
This entry was posted in Poems, Poetry, UDPS and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Moonlight

  1. Tim Keeton says:

    For your first attempt, you hit it spot on!

    I like the imagery of:

    As the rays of the silvery orb
    Fall softly to the ground

    and

    The senses sharpen,
    The mind becomes a hazy daze.
    I can smell flesh and blood,
    Now is the time to kill…

    ssscarrry!

    Rhyme on!

  2. wooo flesh and blood 😛 I love gorge and you portray the image really well!:P Totally fall in love with this poem Thank for the wonderful work!:D

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention Moonlight | Undead Poets Society -- Topsy.com

  4. Pingback: Moonlight « Inside the Mind of a Lunatic

  5. This is so great! I love that you gradually lead us through the transformation using the feelings, smells, and senses of the beast :3

  6. I agree, great first attempt. Like a stroll down transformation lane using all senses.
    Great job…

  7. Cassiopeia Rises says:

    Oh, I do so love things that walk the night. Great images to feast upon. Excellent my friend.

    Melanie

  8. Kim says:

    Excellent first attempt!

Leave a Reply

