Corrosive Action

What once was your voice that sounded so gentle
Now feels like the rattling of a million bones
Our picture that once proudly adorned the mantle
Now lies in disarray, mutilated with stones

You are a fiend. You betrayed me!

What once used to be a song for you of praise
Now spews out of my mouth like some putrid bile
Your smile that once gave my hopes a raise
Now sits as an open slash, and to me appears vile

You are cruel. You deserve this!

What used to once flow like a stream of love
Now spurts from my red vein, as green blood
My heart that once soared like a peaceful dove
Now flails, chokes and drowns in envy’s flood

You broke my heart. You slayed my emotions!

How once on a flowery path with you I walked
Now a blanket of thorns over it is thrown
Where once, we unfurled our souls and talked
Alas.. now the seeds of distrust are sown

It was all my fault. Only I am to blame…

About Kavita

I write my thought Futile or not It matters not much For my heart's such
This entry was posted in Poems, Poetry, UDPS and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Corrosive Action

  1. Ah strong words with pierces all all the places and every time i reach the action part I jumped up somehow :X I like this part “You broke my heart. You slayed my emotions!”
    Normally we cannot slay our emotions but you make it possible it a way that emotions can be cut =P And overall this is such a wonderful poem and I really love it, thank you for sharing ^^~

    • Kavita says:

      I too thought that line was kinda weird.. ‘slayed my emotions’… but then, it somehow added to the overall effect …so left them there 🙂
      Thanks for your thoughtful and kind comments, Riika.. I’m glad you enjoyed this one.. 🙂
      Happy Weekend!

  2. hoiden says:

    My heart that once soared like a peaceful dove
    Now flails, chokes and drowns in envy’s flood…

    strong emotions…powerful verses…awesome poetry 🙂

  3. Kavita says:

    Hmm.. Thanks, girl!! Thankfully for me, it was pure imagination 🙂
    It felt very different writing this one.. since it was not something pleasant.. But it’s okay I guess.. It’s an emotion after all..and quite a strong one at that!
    Glad you liked this one… 🙂

  4. Kim says:

    Love this poem Kavita…. I have to add that I agree with the line “You broke my heart. You slayed my emotions!” – Emotions can definitely be slayed by a cruel heartbreak. Heartbreak is very visceral and very physical.

    • Kavita says:

      Absolutely!!! A broken and strained friendship(any relationship) can actually slay one’s emotions !
      Glad you liked the poem, Kim… And thank you for your compassionate and insightful comment.. I much appreciate it!!!

Leave a Reply

