Speeding Death

twist the jagged knife
bring the metal beast to life
command the motorized chariot
let loose all 200 horses
wheels grip raw road like
teeth gripping flesh
punch pedal
scream diesel
cry devil
vultures halo above
faster
see the road slither
into the frozen mountains
faster
green monster in my veins
red bull in my brains
faster
wind licks hair
tears pulled from eyeballs
faster
cloud shadows pass
moonbeams flicker
faster
break barriers
sound then light
faster
park on the Otherside

About Pen Chirps

#amwriting
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Speeding Death

  1. Jodi MacArthur says:

    I can feel that wind in my hair, monster in my veins, and now I want a Harley. This poem is so tempting. Love it, Chris.

    My fav line:
    green monster in my veins
    red bull in my brains
    faster

  2. Love the imagery here, so raw and intense!

  3. I LOVE love love this image:
    wind licks hair

    I’m going to stick my head out the window tomorrow and look for a windy tongue.

  4. Yayayaya!! 200 horses is a fun way to ride.

    I especially liked:
    punch pedal
    scream diesel
    cry devil

    More more more! It almost makes me want to get in a car. (In Chicago, you don’t need one.)
    Thanks for posting!

  5. Kavita says:

    WOOOWWWWW!!! Vvvrrrroooommmm I went along with this poem! Loved the pace!
    “punch pedal
    scream diesel
    cry devil” – Fantastic!!!!
    With this speed, Otherside seems real close by 😉
    A “killer” poem!

    Cheers..

  6. deadpoet88 says:

    Whoa, very racy poem! I loved it! It’s brilliant.

  7. Thanks for all the feedback everyone 🙂 I really enjoy hearing everyone’s thoughts.

  8. wondrinsoul says:

    i love the pace of this poem…a frenzy of images and especially loved “green monster in my veins, red bull in my brains”…awesome!

Leave a Reply

