Undead Poetic Teaser ~ For WildCard (Margo’s library auction story)

Stab wounds
in my soul. Punctures
leaking conscience, guilt.
This death, a cost too
great to bear.

The whisper of a life I’d
promised, is fleeting with
every breath,
every ounce
every pill
I sell.

My world goes
black and I’m restless–
terrified by the good I
could have done,
could be doing,
If only
I knew
how.

Mother,
your secrets,
anger, vile
chasing me
down
to
the
cellar door.

I don’t exist
Unless I prove
I’m not you

A poetic teaser for Margo Gremmler’s library auction story, WildCard. It will be posted this Friday. Details will be my site www.jodiamcarthur.blogspot.com.

Ps. The story (aka mini series opening) is written in third person, but I thought I would dive underneath Margo’s (my character Margo) skull, and this is what I found. Love this character. I hope the real Margo likes her twin. 😉

About Jodi MacArthur

I write omnivorous fiction.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Undead Poetic Teaser ~ For WildCard (Margo’s library auction story)

  1. deadpoet88 says:

    Hauntingly beautiful. I love the flow of words.

    I especially liked:

    “Stab wounds
    in my soul. Punctures
    leaking conscience, guilt.
    This death, a cost too
    great to bear.”

    • Jodi MacArthur says:

      Thank you, Dearie! This poem is more like the soul of the story, you can’t see it, but you can feel it.

    • Jodi MacArthur says:

      I love it when I can get under Scary Carrie’s skin. ❤ Thanks for reading, girlie. I've missed you!

  2. Ian Ayris says:

    Loved this, Jodi. Anger and hate drip from every word, but what I found most interesting was the apparent complete lack of responsibility taken by the protagonist for her own life : everything a reaction to a mother, a past gone wrong.

    And this part:

    My world goes
    black and I’m restless–
    terrified by the good I
    could have done,
    could be doing,
    If only
    I knew
    how.

    The use of the word ‘terrified’ here makes the writing so powerful. Brilliant word choice. Not scared, worried, frightened – ‘terrified’. Wow.

    So psychologically astute, this one, this character. That’s what makes her so frightening.

    • Jodi MacArthur says:

      Ian,
      Your “astute” assessment is quite amazing. You grasped so many concepts this m/c struggles with. I hope the poem doesn’t give the story away. ;p Nah, it doesn’t give a thing away, but it is truly the inside of her heart, though she doesn’t know it…yet.

      Thank you! I think your quite the skillful one with psychological suspense yourself, so your words mean alot.

  3. Tim Keeton says:

    I also particularly liked the stanza which Ian commented on (“woulda, coulda, shoulda”) and this:

    I don’t exist
    Unless I prove
    I’m not you

    How many of us out there are dealing with this demon? Some referring to a parent, sibling, or other, and some to

    themselves

    • Jodi MacArthur says:

      Thank you so much, Tim. That last stanza really hit home. It’s like the summing up of everything and you hit the hammer on the head. How many of us feel that way? I heard an interesting report on how almost every president of the united states came from a bad home life. It was suggested that the motivating factor to be president was to prove they weren’t like their ‘no good father’ and such. I found this extremely interesting and have been thinking about this ever since.

      You are so right calling it a ‘demon’. Thanks again!

    • Mari Juniper says:

      You got my impression on the spot! How many people can relate with those feelings? I know I can. Well, at least part of them, heh.

      Loved the poem Jodi. It feels that it came from deep inside, which makes it all the more good. Great rhythm and content with simple words. I admire that. 🙂

  4. Spooky. Ominous.

    I can’t wait for the whole story!

  5. Kavita says:

    Aaahhh… that was neat !!!
    “If only
    I knew
    how” — Kinda summed up everything for me!!! How often we simply choose to “not know”…
    Brilliant!

  6. I find it a little difficult to comment objectively… As far as I know, I’ve never been a fictional character. 🙂
    “Terrified by the good I could have done” especially intrigues, though. And speaking for the myself Margo, “If only I knew how” is not something said lightly. But I know the depth it comes from.

    Looking forward to your/(my?) story, Jodi.

    • Jodi MacArthur says:

      The lady of the hour! It’s so weird to know you, and then write a character with your name. Of course, the character isn’t *you*, but I think you both share charm, brains, and gorgeous red hair.

      Can’t wait for you to read Friday. 😉

  7. Great rhythm and enjambment, JM –

    My world goes
    black and I’m restless–

    awesome poem, looking forward to see what you’ve done with the story.

Leave a Reply

