Drainage Tubes

stare down your wounds

know them intimately
brave the incision
it will shrink over time-
but not the scars.

once the air bladder
held more fluid
than a wine cask,
but you are bigger,
and draining it was futile.

removing it, more dangerous
than open heart surgery.
the good news is
you started with two.
breathe deep.

the bones we broke, the damage we did
healing you, might atrophy-
so breathe deep.
while you still can.

I will be removing the
drainage tubes on thursday.
you will not like me very much.
we do have drugs for that,
but you will never forget I was here.

About The Emotional Orphan

I am a museum of past affection. A wax museum in the sun.
This entry was posted in Poems, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Drainage Tubes

  1. “so breathe deep.
    while you still can.”

    That part was the culmination of the anxiety and fear for me. Unsettling poem, makes you cringe. I like it.

  2. Kavita says:

    Really makes you shudder!
    I initially thought of lungs.. then I settled on kidneys… and then the broken bones got me thinking again! I think I need a second look at human anatomy…

    All in all, it put gory images in my head.. you know, like SAW…
    Evil !! But very smartly done, this poem! Kudos..

  3. K-
    Thanks for reading and taking the time to comment. I am glad you felt a little unsettled. It is how I feel when I think about it too… The SAW reference is quite disconcerting since it actually is true. The answer to the trivia question is lung. Interior lining only. (Only?) The bones were the ribs broken for easy access-left side only.

    Got some pretty cool scars, including three holes where the tubes were !

    The moral of the story for you, I suppose, is always go with your “gut” instinct. LOL – couldnt resist.Thanks again.
    J

    • Kavita says:

      Oh man! That was for real?? Hope you are doing much better now…
      Ribs broken for easy access – crazy! Scars, and cool?? That’s a paradox!
      And 3 holes???? What the heck!!! That even SOUNDS scary! I don’t even want to imagine what it looks alike, much less, feels like!

      I am very glad your (dark) humor hasn’t left you though 🙂 It means your okay:)
      Yea, sometimes you gotta go with your ‘gut’ indeed.. 😉
      Take care EO… (hugs)

  4. Great ambiguous title, then totally scary.
    s

  5. It’s amazing how much pain I imagine when I read “You will not like me very much,” in context. Understatement is an understated art.

    Thanks for posting this. Totally discomforting. Fine work.

    • Thanks Margo.
      I am glad the poem had its intended effect. I was speaking with someone earlier about the transition from “we” to “I” – I am glad “we” worked the way it was intended. “We” as a team. “I” (Dr.) as God- the dispenser of final outcomes…
      I appreciate the read and commentary. Now if I can just get Carrie to make me a twin, Ill have an extra me for parts…

  6. deadpoet88 says:

    Amazing piece, so dark and haunting. It flows very beautifully too.

    I especially loved:

    “the bones we broke, the damage we did
    healing you, might atrophy-
    so breathe deep.
    while you still can.”

    Reading the comments, I found out it’s a real life experience. Must have been really scary and painful. I sure hope you’re alright now.

    • Hey, Nice to meet.
      I appreciate your kind words. Rest assured all is well. This is a tale of woe from days gone by. About two-thousand days !!!
      Welcome and look forward to diggin into your stuff ASAP…
      J

  7. Jodi MacArthur says:

    Full of emotion, horror, and sadness. I have a fascination with scars. They heal, yet remain as a reminder of the past. They fade, but never go away. Wonderful poem, Jack.

    • Jodi,
      Thanks for reading and for the comments. You are so right, an accidental glance at the scars is what prompted the poem. Funny, I don’t know why the whole fascination thing doesn’t really surprise me….lol I seem to find myself writing about them constantly whether internal or external.
      Thanks again

Leave a comment