Wake up!

This is my first post here on the Undead Poets’ Society. This is an old poem I have written, which I am very fond of. Hope you enjoy it. (I retitled it to “Wake Up!”, earlier it was called “A Lost Cause?”.)

~*~*~

It is a sunny day and the birds are chirping,
But inside my head you will only find a raging storm.
Been in conflict forever, always divided in two,
Yet I look not around me with feelings of scorn.

“Lie in conflict, lie in pain, lie until you become insane,
Waste away the life that could have been,
While the altercation of your mind drowns you within.
Alas, thou squander thyself with thine own hands…”

It is in my heart that I keep these lies so safely,
All that leaves my lips is the naked truth.
For though we try so hard to cover up our bodies,
The nakedness of our minds will find a way to shine through.

“Aye, the truth she says! What truth?
In a world where all wish to live behind a veil of fallacy,
What would one get by wearing a sword of honesty?
Oh the despair, oh the despair!”

Long lost are the thoughts that bleed through my heart,
And smear the pages with black blood.
Forever I shall wait, as the red drops pour forth,
Leaving behind a numbness, an empty cold void.

“What know thee of emptiness, what know thee of eternity?
They are but exaggerations of thy heart.
There is no emptiness, there is no forever,
Lest thee permit them to prevail.”

It matters not who enters, nor who chooses to leave,
As the vacuum only grows and eternal time keeps ticking.
One cannot be the remedy of wounds left by another,
The cold-blooded massacre of a heart cannot be endured.

“Ah, but hearts were meant to be broken,
To be crushed and discarded  like autumn leaves.
There is no such thing, I say, there is no such thing!
Yet all still believe in this word called love.”

Time ticks away, like a bomb set to explode,
It damages more than it can repair.
Words when spoken, leave hearts so broken,
We are always running, far from our darkest fears.

“Do you fear it Dearie, do you fear like I do?
Fear living more than dying, I do.
Time heals Dearie, time heals all,
Sometimes I feel it would be easier to take the fall.”

We try so hard to smile, doing things that make us frown,
Yet smile I cannot, for I see more than one should see,
We desire in our hearts most to be left broken winged,
For only then do we feel that we are alive and truly believe.

“Oh, how can one desire to be broken,
When one flinches at the slightest hint of pain?
In a world where sacrifice has no meaning,
How can one say they live their life, if not in vain?”

We spend our whole lives, building up from dust,
A life we were taught to dream of.
Achieve dreams once, then what is left,
Oblivion or another dream for a dreamer?

“Wake up you fools, from this crazy dream,
Before nightmare it turns out to be!
Wake up and see, wake up and see,
We are but puppets at the end of a string!”

Alas, we dance with the waves of the world,
Without reason, without doubt, like robots with a lost cause…

~*~*~

About deadpoet88

I talk a lot...I write and think a lot too!
This entry was posted in Poems, Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Wake up!

  1. Tim Keeton says:

    We spend our whole lives, building up from dust,
    A life we were taught to dream of.
    Achieve dreams once, then what is left,
    Oblivion or another dream for a dreamer?

    Well said! Bravo on your (undead)debut…

    Rhyme on!

  2. Kavita says:

    A beautiful piece, this! A dark picture of human life!!!
    “There is no emptiness, there is no forever,
    Lest thee permit them to prevail.” — My favorite lines ! I truly believe in this!!!
    All in all, it was an amazing read!!!
    Keep versing …

  3. Hey deadpoet, Welcome to the undead!
    I agree very much with Tim on the above stanza. “…taught to dream of”? Wow. Ouch, that smarts.
    Also, this:

    It is in my heart that I keep these lies so safely,
    All that leaves my lips is the naked truth.
    For though we try so hard to cover up our bodies,
    The nakedness of our minds will find a way to shine through.

    Oof.
    Looking forward to more, deadpoet!
    Thus spake the undead.

  4. Jodi MacArthur says:

    Deadpoet, welcome to the Undead!
    So many great lines in this. All I can say is Wow. For me the last stanza was powerful. Mainly because my horror writer’s mind has been obsessed with this story about a woman who wakes in the night to find her arms wrapped in ‘strings’ or webs, her ceiling opens and she is pulled towards a giant vortex in the sky, where a giant beast with long legs is lifting her. The monster has a giant thumping heart seen through his thin skin. It is all a metaphor about her husband leaving, and she doesn’t take it well. She struggles to maintain her sanity. By day she thinks she’ll make it, but at night her sanity is attached by strings and will eventually be gobbled by the monster. SO strange how we can be in sync with each other. Loved this.

    “Wake up you fools, from this crazy dream,
    Before nightmare it turns out to be!
    Wake up and see, wake up and see,
    We are but puppets at the end of a string!””

    Looking forward to reading more from you.

Leave a Reply

