Shiny, happy

I watch the robots dancing
and I am amazed
by their excellent form,
never breaking rhythm,
or missing a beat
as they move
all around.

So eloquent in their execution
of style.
Real artists
in their non-self expression.

Spinning and twisting, stomping and gliding, leaping and turning
across the streets, the grocery store isles and the corporate hallways.

I often get captivated
by the dancing.
More so than
I’d care to admit.

Sometimes I forget they are robots
until it occurs to me that
all
they can do
is
dance.

About Fatesjoke

You can now find me and my stuff at www.fatesjoke.com
This entry was posted in Poems, Poetry, UDPS. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Shiny, happy

  1. Jodi MacArthur says:

    I had read this on your site and really liked it. There is a blend of human disconnect and emotion.

  2. Kavita says:

    A fantastic read!!! What a metaphor!!! What are we, but a bunch of robots? Dancing, dancing and dancing all along… And then once in a while, we breathe.. we breathe and sing, and then we resume our rhythmic dance… 🙂

    A beautiful poem!

  3. deadpoet88 says:

    Brilliant poem! Perfection like that can only be programmed in a robot, but can never be achieved by a real living being. I loved the way you ended it.

  4. Fatesjoke03 says:

    Thanks, I recently read this at a writer’s conference and got some nice compliments. It was surprising because it was the only poem read that was fart from the poetic norm. Thankfully the people that liked it enough to come up to me and say as much were the people that can see the robots and aren’t one themselves.

Leave a Reply

