Red Haze

I watch the tip of her cigarette burn.

In the darkness, the light shows her face.

Cast in a red haze, she looks adrift.

Her eyes are lost in shadow.

The burning ember fades as her lips withdraw.

In the fleeing light I watch her exhale.

Lips spread and a slight smile forming.

The smoke flows toward me and I laugh.

I laugh at the perfect beauty of the moment.

My hand reaches up to touch her face.

Fingers wanting to caress her cheek.

Before I can rest a finger on her, I know.

Know, that it is not her with me.

The cigarette falls to the floor and burns.

My fingers touch the cold glass.

The face in the mirror is mine.

I can almost see her walking away.

The smoke following her

down the hall.

About Fatesjoke

You can now find me and my stuff at www.fatesjoke.com
This entry was posted in Poems, Poetry, UDPS. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Red Haze

  1. Tim Keeton says:

    I still like this one. Good work.

    Rhyme on!

  2. wondrinsoul says:

    I like the air of mystery in this one…it almost seems like it is raining outside and she is smoking alone staring out the window. There is almost a ghostly presence in the room while I read this!

  3. Kavita says:

    That was goooood!!!! A haunting reflection… no long deceptive.. This was crazy good!
    From tender and sensuous, to dark and chilling !! Nice!

  4. Fatesjoke03 says:

    Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

