Mocking Rainbows

Sharp stick
draws circles in
the sand, complete,
one inside another. Lust
or love or illusion? Only
the artist knows. Despite
what the Rolling Stones sing,
time is not on our side.
The stick is tossed.
Nature, like the sea
roars, ebbs, flows
wiping the sand
slate clean.

About Jodi MacArthur

I write omnivorous fiction.
This entry was posted in Poetry, UDPS and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Mocking Rainbows

  1. wondrinsoul says:

    The idea that we cannot know what an artist means by a piece of their work is one of the most fascinating, humanizing things about art. I love this poem because it speaks to me about how fleeting creativity can be if it is not nailed down and fixated somewhere…one may never even have known it existed.

    • imaginationzombie says:

      Exactly. You grasped so many of my thoughts here. Everything, art, people, emotions, thoughts are eventually wiped clean. It’s sad ending and a new beginning at the same time. Thank you for your thoughts. 😉

  2. Kavita says:

    A rainbow is such beautiful stroke of an immaculate brush.. later wiped clean !
    I wonder whose side Time is on anyway 🙂

    Lovely poem..

    • imaginationzombie says:

      Here one minute, gone the next. And we are left wondering where that pot of gold is. Thank you, dear!

      • Kavita says:

        Ahh.. that much-dreamed-of pot of gold! How does one move it so quickly, I wonder!!! 😉 Somebody has been fooling us all the while! Phheeww…

  3. Tim Keeton says:

    All that we see or seem / Is but a dream within a dream. –E. A. Poe (Dead)Poet

    Nice one, Ms. Jodi.

    Rhyme on!

  4. Ahh, the sea. I love the line “The stick is tossed” – evocative, releasing, scary.
    s

    • imaginationzombie says:

      Thanks, Sean. You always catch those little things I throw in there. The line changes everything. Thanks for commenting.

  5. So quiet, but so much drama. Haunting.
    Note to self: Do not read when suffering hangover.

    Too late.

    • Haunted is a great word for this poem. It makes me want to write The Haunted Hangover -Oops Too Many Martinis (starring Margo Gremmler from the top hit WildCard series). Thank you, Hon! Feel better.

      • OH. You must write Oops Too Many. It really wasn’t that many, though, so take license. Truth would make it sad and pathetic.
        Thank ya, sistah – I’m feelin’ fine now. This morning’s dizziness and nausea faded away by lunchtime.

  6. Well, if you felt that awful, then even if its one, its probably too many. Did you have an empty stomach, forget to eat? That’s what gets me. And I’ll think about Oops To Many. But I’ll have to use your twin, I can get inside her head easier. ;p

    • I thought I ate enough…? Just some starters, so mabes not. Downfall!
      Maybe save One Too Many for a rainy day. I’d love to see the first installment soon. Will you post to this lovely forum? [Heh, maybe I should read first…]

  7. imaginationzombie says:

    Are you talking about WildCard? Would you like me to post here? I could talk with Tim and work that out. I’m trying to decide what to do, because it’s a lot longer than I had orginally planned about 4500. I should ask Tim how far the width is on these blogs and compare it to my site and see which would be easier on the eyes to read.

    • You could always do an excerpt here and link it out to your home on the interwebs. I’ll probably do a similar excerpt on my blog if you’ll allow…

      Work for you, Tim? (You must be listening…)

  8. deadpoet88 says:

    Hauntingly beautiful written, and so much truth! You are right, only the artist knows what he/she really means. And there is always a clean slate to work with.

  9. I like how the “artist” is drawing circles while thinking of completion. It’s funny, it never occurred to me that rainbows were incomplete – only half a circle. Then, I like when time is considered and “the stick is tossed” suggesting there are more pressing matters. The artwork is fleeting like the feeling.

    Lovely Jodi. Would it be a stretch to say this work was inspired by S. Padre?

    • Jodi MacArthur says:

      It’s weird how the rainbow fits this in every way, or rather mocking rainbows. The illusions of it, the half circle, the colors that exist but dont. And ha, I actually wrote this before S.Padre but was unhappy with it. The night I got home from the beach, I wrote the stick tossed part and everything flowed perfect.
      Thanks, Chris.

  10. The Emotional Orphan says:

    Great piece J– and I quote…”and let people draw their own conclusions through what I write” LOL

Leave a Reply

