Hopscotch

“Red Rover, Red Rover

Send Casey right over”

10

9                                8

7

Steps to join the game

6                                 5

Kids staring at me,

Looking at my dirty tennis shoes,

My frilly socks full of lace on the edges,

Running up my legs and rolling back down

again with each jump.

4

Steps taken apprehensively back from the

Sheer size of the other kids, beckoning

on the other side of the playground.

Their arms swinging like an elephant’s

trunk as they hold hands, jaws-jutting

forward, mouths open, teeth gleaming;

a challenge to the opposite team.

3

Seconds to think.

2

Feet pounding the pavement as I run

Full speed at the game; the outstretched

Arms of my classmates egging me on,

The wind tousling my curly hair,

My socks bouncing merrily up and down my legs.

1

Satisfying crash as the finish line of arms

bursts open and the smiling faces of my

partners grabs me in a hug, swinging me

around just in time to grip their hands

and stand battle-ready for the next flash

of shoes and hair pushed forward by the

other team.

About wondrinsoul

Writing what comes to mind helps to make space for new experiences and thoughts to emerge. I am a sponge for knowledge, but every now and then I need to wring myself out so I don't become filled with stagnant, bacteria-filled, regenerated, ping-pong ball like ideas.
This entry was posted in Poems and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hopscotch

  1. Tim Keeton says:

    Nice. Visually and textually.

    Velcome, and Rhyme on!

  2. imaginationzombie says:

    Woo. This makes me want to be a kid again. Love the count down- an infusion of words and numbers. I liked this:

    Looking at my dirty tennis shoes,

    My frilly socks full of lace on the edges,

    Running up my legs and rolling back down

    again with each jump.

    I can *see* this and it adds to the emotion. Great work.

  3. wondrinsoul says:

    Grin! Thank you both very much 🙂

  4. Fantastic. You’ve represented four of the five senses here, and efficiently at that!

  5. Kavita says:

    Ooohh.. I went back in time while I was reading this one!
    A LOVELY and thoroughly enjoyable read!!!
    “The wind tousling my curly hair,
    My socks bouncing merrily up and down my legs.” – That was meeeeeeee!!! 🙂

  6. That countdown is cool – especially the way you clockface it to begin with; quite slippery. I love the lines “… swinging me / around just in time to grip their hands / and stand battle-ready for the next flash / of shoes and hair…”, great rhythm.
    s

  7. Gally says:

    Unique, fun poem :3

Leave a Reply

