Manifestation – Yes? No? Maybe?

This was something I had imagined, written and posted on my blog a couple of months back… But I just couldn’t stop myself from reposting it here, in the Undead World as well… Hope I didn’t go overboard with this deadly act! 🙂
Anyway, here it is:

I see a bird
An enormous, frightening bird of prey
Perched on the sharp edge of a rock
Its focused, beady eyes looking down
The large talons clutching something…
Something trembling
I see a hand

The bird swiftly dips its head
Digs a pointed beak
Into the skin on the hand
Blood gushes from this new wound
There are many such wounds
The hand’s now pale
It belongs to a body still alive…

The bird is looking for more
The hand suddenly moves
Blood dripping from fingertips
Like water off a rag wrung hard
The hand attempts to reach someplace
To the face…

I can almost see the face now…
Yes, I see it
It’s mine!
But how can I be there, dying,
When I am here, alive?
Or am I?

Is it only a mirror?
But it’s all in rusty sepia
Is it an image?
Is it a movie with my face in it?
Maybe it’s a nightmare I’ll snap out of soon…
Or is it?

I still see the bird…
Its eyes, its beak, its bloody talons
Only, it’s not a bird anymore
It’s a person
A gaunt wretch
My hand is no longer bleeding
But trembling nevertheless

Then I vanish
Where did I go?
The man begins to laugh…
A shrill, satanic laugh
He walks to his pet, the bird
Strokes it gently with his wiry hands
He lets out another horrific laugh

I still don’t see me
Where am I?
Am I lost?
Or in the shadows?
Am I hiding behind the skeleton of the tree?
Or beneath that threadbare rag?
Maybe it was a dream after all…

Or… was it??

About Kavita

I write my thought Futile or not It matters not much For my heart's such
This entry was posted in Poems, Poetry, UDPS and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Manifestation – Yes? No? Maybe?

  1. Pray tell me it was just a bad dream. Excellent writing I love it.

    Melanie

  2. Kavita says:

    Oh.. it was not even a dream actually… it was a combination of a vulture seen on TV while surfing the channels, and bleary-eyed 3AM imagination, before I finally decided it was high time I sleep! 😉

    Glad you enjoyed the piece though, Mel… It was kinda fun writing it as well!

  3. imaginationzombie says:

    I thought I had left a comment here a day or two ago, must have forgotten the send button. I like the gruesome mixed with the unknowing. The visual of the crow holding a bloody hand, and then realizing it is yours (or the character’s rather). Wow.

    Are you familiar with Cold Play? Their song 42 immediatly popped into my head. It had the same feel as your work here. Here’s a cool live performance. 😉

    • Kavita says:

      Glad you enjoyed the read, IZ… The idea of a crow came from a vulture I saw on TV 🙂 …and the rest was a mix of sleepy-eyedness and images flashing in my head from God knows where! 🙂 I didn’t have the slightest cut on any part of my body, a leafless tree was out of the question (it was Spring then!), I am def. not into video games, and a rag?!?! NO IDEA! So I am thinking it was just a cranked up imagination-projector!

      Thanks for the ColdPlay video… Yea, I’ve definitely heard of them! My husband’s a huge fan! I ain’t.. but maybe I haven’t heard enough of them to get to fanhood myself! Am glad my poem reminded you of this track though… 😉

    • Tim Keeton says:

      Those who are dead / are not dead / they’re just living in my head

      Well said.

      • Kavita says:

        And very well rhymed by you, Tim! 🙂
        It was kinda weird when i was writing it.. sleepy and all.. and yet, scribbling away haphazardly into my notebook, just so I don’t forget it the next morning 🙂

        Glad you enjoyed the read…

Leave a Reply

