The Undead (audio added – originally posted 05/12/2010)

Listen to this poem

The Undead

Yearning, burning,
crawling, itching,
unpleasant sensation,
in my core;
nothing stops it;
one thing soothes it;
I do not want this life,
anymore.

I see the bluish-purple,
throbbing; I hear the,
careless beat it makes;
to ease my craving,
nothing matters;
I’ll do whatever deed it takes.

Pearlescent sharpness,
rubies glistening,
streaming glissando of,
life-stealing pleasure;
there’s only so much,
but I’ll have it all;
drain you to your,
fullest measure.

And now to sleep,
perchance to dream
(I think I’ve heard that
line before);
temporarily sated,
pain abated,
until I wake at night,
once more.

So stranger, if you find me,
sleeping,
pray for me, I beg you please,
I needs must end,
my mournful weeping,
you’re the cure, and I
disease.

About Tim Keeton

Flashfiction published by Seedpod Pub. Poetry appears in Read Write Poem 2010 Anthology. Founder & creator of the Undead Poets Society
This entry was posted in Audio File, Charter Membership, Poems, Poetry, UDPS and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Undead (audio added – originally posted 05/12/2010)

  1. lisagailgreen says:

    Love this! Right up my alley. 😉

  2. Kavita says:

    Creeeeeepy and cool !!!! 🙂 But damnably good!!!
    Verse on.. ye undead! I crave some more of your bloodcurdling sorta lines…

    Cold dark love,
    K

  3. See, Tim? Cha-ching! (First the double-enténdre jar, and now this: mealtach voice-pimpage!)

    Ahem. Okay, I’ll stop now.

  4. imaginationzombie says:

    Right on the money (ahem, per Margo’s mealtach voice-pimpage mention) . I remember this from a couple months back, really liked it. Your voice is so perfect for this reading.

    Read us some passionate Bram Stoker, Tim.

Leave a Reply

