The Rock

It’s been a while since I’ve posted , sorry.  *blushes* But to make up for it I’m sharing/publishing a poem I wrote for my grandmother who passed away at the age of 96 this past summer.  It was read at her funeral.

The Rock

Wind and rain, sun beats down,
whittles away at solid ground.
The rock holds steady strong and still.
Humble, peaceful, strong of will.

Silent beauty, knows her place,
strength of posture, strength of grace,
strength of wisdom, watches all,
never break and never fall.

She does not bow, she does not bend.
Stands, embraces till the end.
Taking with her all she’s seen,
skies of blue and fields of green.

Yes she crumbles, does not fight,
she does not see this as a plight.
Enjoy the wind, enjoy the feel,
what’s important.  What is real.


Thanks for letting me share.

About Lisa Gail Green

Lisa Gail Green would definitely have a werewolf for a pet if she weren't allergic. Visit her at LisaGailGreen.com to learn more about SOUL CROSSED (Feb. 25, 2015) and her other work.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Rock

  1. Kavita says:

    That was a very beautiful poem, Lisa… May your grandmom’s soul rest in peace…
    I can totally relate to this, especially so, cuz my granny passed away last year, and I was shell shocked! We knew it was coming, and yet.. when it does, it leaves us in disarray.. I had written a poem as a tribute to my grandmother, on her 1st death anniversary .. Maybe it will remind you too of some of those fond memories with your’s, like it did to me..
    Take care, and best wishes…

    • lisagailgreen says:

      Thank you, Kavita. I read your poem. It was lovely. Thank you for sharing that with me. I know. Even though she was old, she seemed like she would just last forever.

  2. Tim Keeton says:

    Velcome back, Lisa. Thanks for sharing this.

    • lisagailgreen says:

      He – good to be “back” I was still lurking in the shadows. You can’t really get rid of me completely you know.

  3. From the way this reads, it seems the sentiments came easy to you. A celebration, in a way.
    Thank you for letting us read, Lisa.

  4. imaginationzombie says:

    Hey Lisa,
    Good to read your work, especially this. Your grandmother sounds like a wonderful woman, I feel like I can see her through your eyes. The last two lines were esp wonderful,

    Enjoy the wind, enjoy the feel,
    what’s important. What is real.

    Very nice, hon.

    • lisagailgreen says:

      Thanks. I’m glad you enjoyed it and it’s nice to know I am able to get across the essence of who she was.

  5. Gally says:

    Beautiful imagery :3

  6. Beautiful poem Gally. Very moving and a lovely comment on a life well lived.

    Melanie-beloved49

Leave a Reply

