An Artist’s Repose – flash poem

Silver mirrors slice
the ice-like eyes my
lover hides behind as

she draws in
ink, a bloody river
sluicing out my
memories and breath

like slicked oil
painted in cerulean and
cobalt tears with

slivers from my limbic,

a system she devised
to entwine me

with scalpel lines
she wounds and
bleeds me in

disguise, unpalatable,
blind, I sigh in
this palpable

repose, pummelled
and drained, my mind
a refrain

a shadow, a ghost
a moment to spill
she holds me
so close
I’ll never

be

lost

_____

Sean Monaghan

About Sean Monaghan

Writer. Voracious reader.
This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to An Artist’s Repose – flash poem

  1. okay, you understand, this is a fictional lover I’m writing about …
    s

  2. Tim Keeton says:

    Why are you explaining, then? 😉

    Good stuff as always.

    like slicked oil
    painted in cerulean and
    cobalt tears with

    slivers from my limbic,

    How undead of you…

    Rhyme on!

  3. Pingback: Visual Artist » An Artist's Repose – flash poem | Undead Poets Society

  4. moondustwriter says:

    It is very undead of you
    what a lover – saves the best for last
    or the last for best

    Thanks for coming to 1 Shot Wednesday where we actually live to write or write to live or…

  5. Jodi MacArthur says:

    I love how you describe art as your lover. She is a sensuous malady.

Leave a Reply

