Usher’s Fall

Listen to this poem

Usher’s Fall

cold
dark
earthy
shrouded tomb
home to worms and me
trapped and aware in this coffin
home to worms and me
shrouded tomb
earthy
dark
cold
dark
earthy
shrouded tomb
home to worms and me
trapped and aware in this coffin
home to worms and me
shrouded tomb
earthy
dark
cold
dark
earthy
shrouded tomb
home to worms and me
trapped and aware in this coffin
home to worms and me
shrouded tomb
earthy
dark
cold

About Tim Keeton

Flashfiction published by Seedpod Pub. Poetry appears in Read Write Poem 2010 Anthology. Founder & creator of the Undead Poets Society
This entry was posted in Audio File, Poems, Poetry, UDPS and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Usher’s Fall

  1. joan says:

    You had me squirming from the very beginning. Simple words with a very descriptive punch.

    enjoy a light hearted week end Tim.

    Joanny

  2. Jodi MacArthur says:

    Uhhh…. I need to go step out in the sunshine for a moment.

  3. Gally says:

    What I like most about this is the rhythm. The imagery reminds me of Dracula lying awake in his coffin ;3

  4. Awesome – what a great twist on the fib.
    s

  5. Tim Keeton says:

    Thanks, you undead. Dracula is a good thought. I was somewhat going with the Usher sister buried alive, as she slowly is being driven crazy by her predicament (and I also liked how the shape sort of turned into “batwings”).

    Rhyme on!

Leave a Reply

