Almost A Father

Almost  a Father-By Frances Ayers

No legal ties to bind us,no shared blood in our veins.

Yet I call you father,in many many ways.

If soothing words can dry a tear,and love can ease the way.

When difficult times assault,I know you’ll always stay.

You’ve helped me travel down a path of unfamiliar roads.

So many lessons I have learned ,by stories you have told.

During fearful times you’ve held my hand and told me I am strong.

You’ve shared my joy,and pain alike and gladly came along.

So richly blessed is how I feel,I’ve had you by my side.

My gratitude is not enough,It’s something I can’t hide.

As time goes on, and life slows down,and one day you are gone.

I’ll think of all the ways you’ve helped me and I’ll carry on.

About franny124

I am a 53 year old published poet.Many of my poems have been published in print anthologies as well as online.My poem,"As Old As The Sea,was recently a second runner up in Voicesnet.com May's contest.Previously,I worked as a Social Worker/Counselor with abused and neglected children.
This entry was posted in Charter Membership, Poems, Poetry, UDPS and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Almost A Father

  1. alienhippy says:

    A very touching poem, thank you for sharing. x

  2. franny124 says:

    Thank You!It was written for my uncle who helped raise me.

Leave a Reply

