[Writing] Quicksand by Gally Lines

Quicksand
Poem by Christine Lines, © 2010

And I’m sinking again
because if you were glue
I’d be the stupid little
shattered pieces
on the ground
panicking
that I can’t
put myself back
together again
because you’re not here,
And I’m sinking again
because it took me
so long
to realize that
I’m not the strong one
and what little
strength I have
can’t sustain me
because you’re not here,
And I’m sinking again
because of all the times
I took you for granted
when I felt safe
in your warm embrace
thinking of you
always being here
not knowing
life would tear us
apart
and leave only
the blood-stopping cold
vast empty void
of where your arms
used to be
because you’re not here,
And I’m sinking again
because I’ve lied
to myself
to you
thinking I could be
perfectly fine
all alone
but the truth is
I fear being forgotten
I fear being abandoned
I fear being unneeded
and now I know
the torment of these demons
in this evil lonely vacuum
and this eternity of solitude
I face all alone
because you’re not here,
And I’m sinking again…

+X+  Gally

About Gally Lines ~ LestISmiteThee.wordpress.com

LestISmiteThee.wordpress.com ~ Aspiring author Gally Lines explores writing & other art/geeky/travel/badassness
This entry was posted in Poems, Poetry, UDPS and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to [Writing] Quicksand by Gally Lines

  1. Wonderful rhythm Gally, and the form to: combined they really highlight the sense of descending into quicksand.
    Sean

  2. Gally, the rhythm here is incredible! Great poem.

  3. The Emotional Orphan says:

    Gally, nice to meet you and your words… I enjoyed the rhythm and sentiment here as well. I also spent a little time on your blog tonight and look forward to reading more. Besides the content, I really like the WP theme as well. Rock on- write on. J.

  4. Pingback: [Writing] Quicksand « .:Lest I Smite Thee:.

Leave a Reply

