Silent Revenge

Tears.
Through sewn shut slits
I watch them file past.
In no particular order.
Reverent.
As never before.
Ears pinned back
Reveal their whispers of
How peaceful I look
In my waxy pallor,
Underneath the clown mask hue.
Coiffed and sprayed hair
Covers those ears.
Taking in all
Those things they wish
They’d said before.
Through pasty, painted lips
I laugh an echoed chamber laugh
knowing I now had
what I’d always wanted.
My revenge, and their regret spills from their eyes.
Tears.

by Jack Varnell-The Emotional Orphan

About The Emotional Orphan

I am a museum of past affection. A wax museum in the sun.
This entry was posted in Poems, Poetry, UDPS and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Silent Revenge

  1. slpmartin says:

    An emotional of poem of revenge…it was quite interesting to think about.

    • The Emotional Orphan says:

      Thanks for the comment. I read some of your work on your blog as well… Nice work. Pleasure to meet.

  2. Virginia says:

    hey JNV the 3rd person here is empty for me. I’d like to figure it out 4 myself. Try it. I like the way you are intended to believe that while dead you know another’s thought.

  3. Jodi MacArthur says:

    I read this awhile back on google reader, it’s been in my mind. I like the way you wrap grief and horror into this. Write more. You fit here.

    • The Emotional Orphan says:

      Thanks Jodi. I appreciate the support. I really like this piece as well, although is a little more of my mood when written than actual horror. I can be a bitter soul at times. I checked out your blog and added you to my roll. Love the playlist. Big fan of Emily Haines, prefer Soft Skeletons. Her dad Paul is an interesting writer-poet too.

      In any event, thanks again, nice to meet. Ill be writing….and watching>>>

      • Jodi MacArthur says:

        Ha. I just found this. I think it was ‘underneath the clown mask hue’ that got me thinking more towards horror than mere moodiness. In either case, I DO enjoy your work. Thanks for adding me to your blog roll. I know I visited your website, but then I couldn’t find it again. Just realized it was linked up here, so I’ll go find you again. 😉

Leave a Reply

