Moments of Drown

Beneath a rippled sea
I squeezed her,

you see, tore
her apart, lifted

slitted pieces
of her purple irised

eyes, waved my own
hands between shimmering

crests, stroked back
for shore, still sure,

striking shouldered shoals,
grasping, seeking leverage

through moments
of echo soundings

made to measure
the depth between

her and me
_________________

– Sean Monaghan

About Sean Monaghan

Writer. Voracious reader.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Moments of Drown

  1. This still needs work, I think, but it’s closer to it’s final form than it’s been. I’ve used drown as a noun, so my grammar needs lots of work.

  2. beautiful. it seems finished to me! keep it as it is!
    http://theincompleteworks.wordpress.com/

  3. soulintention: signed .............bkm says:

    “slitted pieces
    of her purple irised
    eyes, waved my own
    hands between shimmering
    crests, …”

    great image of color and light on water……bkm

  4. Thanks, okay, I’ll leave it alone 🙂
    s

  5. wondrinsoul says:

    I liked “striking shouldered shoals” good use of alliteration and imagery!

Leave a Reply

