Tadhg’s Lament

Listen to this poem

The cottage lies empty,
The hearthfire is dark,
and soon I’ll nae more be amongst ye,
For my bonnie lass,
Has gone to her grave,
And I’ll find one too, come what may.

Yon heather is blowing,
O’er her sad remains,
Our bairn rests within where she bides,
For my bonnie lass,
Has gone to her grave,
And I’ll find one too, soon besides.

Perhaps I will find,
My rest in the sea,
As I sail westwards to Skye,
For my bonnie lass,
Has gone to her grave,
And I’ll find one too, by and by.

If ne’er you see,
My sad face again,
Remember my love every day,
For my bonnie lass,
Has gone to her grave,
And I’ll find one too, soon I pray.

I dedicate this flash-poem, written in a somewhat, highland-Scots style, to Barbara (soulintention: signed ………….bkm).

Rhyme on!

About Tim Keeton

Flashfiction published by Seedpod Pub. Poetry appears in Read Write Poem 2010 Anthology. Founder & creator of the Undead Poets Society
This entry was posted in Audio File, Charter Membership, Poems, Poetry, UDPS and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Tadhg’s Lament

  1. Too cool, this. I wish I could write like classic. I do that abstract stuff that sounds awesome in clubs but is worthless on paper. 😉

  2. soulintention: signed .............bkm says:

    Tim, well how lovely is that, I just got home and checking in I find this amazing Scottish tale…..I do hope bonnie lass rests in peace.

    Oh – those Scots and Celts they know now to tell a good tale…
    with faeire’s and lasses while raising their glasses ….
    filled with scotch and green irish ale..

    Ut’ss gut on ye Tim

  3. EXCELLENT…so how do i sign up surely you would take me as a member? email me at marshallp98@yahoo.co.uk cheers Pete

    • Tim Keeton says:

      Absolutely, Pete! We would love to have you.
      You were already on our blogroll, and I have given you Contributor rights to the UDPS site, but before you can use the coveted UDPS Member badge, or post to the site, you still need to do the following to become an Official Member of the Undead Poets Society:

      # Follow this site and add it to your blog roll
      # Follow @UndeadPoets on Twitter
      # Reply in the comments on this page/Send me a poem of your creation to post on the site (size does not matter)
      # Comment and post a link to this site on your site, blog, Twitter, etc.

      That’s basically it.

      Rhyme on!

  4. Jodi MacArthur says:

    My goodness this is gorgeous! I love these poems of yours. Definitely your nitch.

  5. Pingback: Audio added | Undead Poets Society

Leave a Reply

