Stolen (double haiku, following Shakira’s Survivor contribution)

Your thoughts are my treasures
Locked within photographs
Your life, the key, lost

Dearest Aunt
Stolen, snatched, held ransomed by time
Come back

(The first is for my grandmother, the second for my aunt. Both were stolen by ovarian cancer and died one year apart. I miss them.)

About Jodi MacArthur

I write omnivorous fiction.
This entry was posted in Poems, Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Stolen (double haiku, following Shakira’s Survivor contribution)

  1. shakira says:

    very nicely done, Jodi.
    I love both, especially when I read them out loud.
    such beautiful tributes to both your grandmother and auntie.
    I am so sorry to hear about your loss and their battles with ovarian cancer.
    I managed to have a hysterectomy and thank God , it tested negative for cancer.
    blessed be..
    hugs
    shakira

  2. Jodi MacArthur says:

    Thank goodness. Congrats, Shakira. Thank you so much for the kind words, and I’d like to add that I have several family members that have beaten cancer too. The strength and courage from those who have been taken and those who overcome and survive just amaze and humble me. My hat off to you, Shakira.

    *hugs back*

    J

  3. Simple, moving, courageous and from the heart. Jodi epiphany.

  4. soulintention: signed .............bkm says:

    very nice tribute…..very well done..bkm

  5. Jodi MacArthur says:

    Thank you both!

Leave a Reply

