Final results for Flash Full Moon Haiku Challenge

OK, ok…this started with a “Full Moon” Haiku by LisaGailGreen. Then, MargoGremmler and LisaGail thought it might be cool to continue it on, so I created a Challenge. For those of you who may be unfamiliar with our “Flash” Challenges, when we say “flash” we mean a first rough draft – no editing. Post it as you write it. No regrets, no looking back, no thinking, “I should have done this…”

Many of the Undead Poets stepped up big, and more than met that challenge; they knocked it out of the park! Unfortunately, I am going to have too close the challenge before we run out of bandwidth 😉

This was an outstanding individual and group effort. This is what the Undead Poets are all about! Aaaarrrroooooooooo!!!!!!!

Rhyme on!

Full Moon

(Lisa)
Full moon pulls the tide

the beast pulses deep inside

rips through will not hide

(Tim)
Must resist; must fight

feelings eating my insides

too late, can’t stop now…

Flesh and bone bubble

morphing into fur and teeth

beware, my loved ones!

(Rachel)
Face you think you know

becomes muzzle, filled with teeth,

above heart of fire.

(Tim)
Mirror reflects pain

losing myself in horror

must fight to stay me

(Sean)
Manhole cover skewed

Black crescent on a black road

Moon reflects below

(Margo)
Cover me now, dear,

My appetite must not know

What surely it craves

Want you and now, dear

To devour with every sense

Lest I am contained

(Tim)
Urge out of control

Hunger must be satisfied

Frightened by desire

(Jodi)
Rising in darkness

The full moon opens it mouth

And swallows the sky

(Rachel)
Not rage rising, no;

it’s that silvery disc that

defines this new beast.

(Tim)
In my heart of hearts

Soon my grief will be assuaged

No more time to mourn

(Geoff)
Some who live in fear

will taste that moon in their blood

when teeth come like tide.

As joints dislocate

bones snap thicken align

a reborn creature

no laughter no tears

and no grief all humanity

replaced by hunger

(Jan)
Wild mind rages now

human conscience torn to shreds

leaves the soul to die.

No memory left

This night will be forgotten

until the next moon.

(Sandra)
Hot with want he chased

Caught, I let him take a bite

Sweet vitality

(Barbara)
Teeth vamp up for night

Beams applaud louder, louder

Full moon takes the 5th

(Rachel)
The moon says that he

is not responsible for

my crimes in his name.

He laughs when I try

to ask for some small respite;

my fate has been sealed.

About Tim Keeton

Flashfiction published by Seedpod Pub. Poetry appears in Read Write Poem 2010 Anthology. Founder & creator of the Undead Poets Society
This entry was posted in Challenge, Poems, Poetry, UDPS and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Final results for Flash Full Moon Haiku Challenge

  1. … just as I was starting my Mars Fights Back piece too.

    Actually – very cool set of pieces here, and nice to make it finite. Another challenge now?

  2. Wowzers! Y’all rocked the Flash, didn’t you? 🙂

  3. lisagailgreen says:

    Wow!!! That was AWESOME everyone! We rock.

  4. Yes! The results are astounding, and quite cinematic.
    It’s so easy to follow through this as “cuts” or “shots”: Between wide scene-setting (Lisa, Jodi); to the monster’s voice (Tim, Margo); tactile, smaller cutaways (Sean, Barbara); brushstrokes of deeper themes (Rachel, Geoff); even an (un)willing victim (Sandra). And ending on that damn moon man himself! Brava, Rachel, for that.

  5. soulintention: signed .............bkm says:

    and to think…this is a new site……yes, you all rock…. it is just the beginning…

  6. Jodi MacArthur says:

    Nice description, Margo. I agree 100 percent. The flow is just beautiful. As if we were reading each other’s minds. And yet everyone has their own unique twist and style. All of you are so terrific!

  7. I hope everyone’s backs have been thoroughly patted. If not, let me add this: it really is amazing how well these disparate poems all work together. And while I know many of them were posted throughout the day (I read all the ones posted before I posted mine) that doesn’t necessarily mean they’d work this well. Great job everyone!

    I also just had a thought: what if we did a similar challenge (single subject haiku) but this time didn’t have the benefit of reading everyone else’s work until they were all posted together? Could be interesting, or a train wreck. What do people think?

Leave a Reply

