Remain Calm – Flash Pantoum

Remain Calm
__________

In event of emergency
do not use elevators
barricade yourself in
and prepare to fight

do not use elevator
retrieve your personal belongings
and prepare to fight
as the horde rises

retrieve your personal belongings
grab makeshift weapons
as the horde rises
they are no longer your friends

grab makeshift weapons
to sever their heads
they are no longer your friends
they are no longer your colleagues

to sever their heads
it takes force of will
they are no longer your colleagues
they are no longer your family

it takes force of will
you may be overwhelmed
they are no longer your family
you must slice them apart

you may be overwhelmed
barricade yourself in
you must slice them apart
in event of emergency

_____

I’m busy marking at the moment. One of the student exercises is to write a Pantoum. Another is to write from a found phrase. I’ve combined both exercises. Fortunately, most of the student work is better than this 🙂

Sean

About Sean Monaghan

Writer. Voracious reader.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Remain Calm – Flash Pantoum

  1. Tim Keeton says:

    Very cool! I may have to try this. Sean, I can always count on you to bring something new to the table.

  2. suzicate says:

    Excellent. I have only once written a pantoum that I considered worthy. I thought it was difficult at first, but was quite pleased with the results. You make me want to try it again. I’ve never been “schooled” in poetry. I strictly write from my heart, but I will try formulas from time to time. I enjoyed this…a flight or fight mechanism.

  3. Alice Audrey says:

    Attack of the zombies?

  4. Lou says:

    No way, this poem rocks! Seriously!!

    Cheers,

    -lou

  5. moondustwriter says:

    like your society looks like you have fun

  6. Thanks all. It’s taken me ages to feel comfortable with received forms – when it works it looks great, but I’ve made so many false starts.

  7. “grab makeshift weapons
    to sever their heads
    they are no longer your friends”

    Remind me NOT to get on your badside, especially in an elevator. Loved this form. I’m trying to catch what this Pantoum is. You use certain terms or lines repetively. This form works so well for horror. And you call me creepy! (GEEZ).

    Tim is right, you’re always bringing new things to the table. It’s so great because I want to learn more forms of poetry like this.

  8. Short Poems says:

    Nicely done, like it very much!
    Pantoum Poems

  9. soulintention: signed .............bkm says:

    much philosophy in these words…….thinking, thinking, thought…….bkm

Leave a Reply

