Silver Bullet Blues – flash poem

(sung to the tune of any blues riff in G, maybe D)

I been down
I been down so long
I been down so long, just don’t remember up.
No, no I don’t remember up
Not since my girl left
No, not since she left
With that canine half-man
Yeah, that’s all he was
A half a man
But she left anyway
Yeah, she left and now

I been down
I been down so long
I been down so long, just don’t remember up.
No, no I don’t remember up
Not since my girl left
No, not since she came back
That night with her
Half-man wolfman
aaaa-oooo
Yeah she came on back
Just a half-woman now

I been down
I been down so long
I been down so long, just don’t remember up.
No, no I don’t remember up
Not since my girl left
No, not since she came for me
But I was ready for them
Ready for them both
Oh-yeah
With my polished revolver
I been down

(plaintive instrumental solo)

And I cried as I fired
My girl, she was gone
Gone even before she took the shot
And, me, so blue, so down
I put the other five
Into that half-man
Who stole her

I been down
I been down so long
I been down so long, just don’t remember up.
No, no I don’t remember up
Not since my girl left
Not since I got these
Silver bullet blues

__________

Hmm, I wrote this fast, but maybe I’ll do some work on it and get a friend to write some music. Maybe not. Maybe I’ll just put it down to being overworked and tired.

Sean

About Sean Monaghan

Writer. Voracious reader.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Silver Bullet Blues – flash poem

  1. Jingle says:

    very creative poem!

  2. Tim Keeton says:

    I like this Sean.

    And, me, so blue, so down
    I put the other five
    Into that half-man
    Who stole her

    Duh, deh-duh-deh, doww! da-dunt, da-dunt,
    Duh, deh-duh-deh, doww! da-dunt, da-dunt,
    Duh, deh-duh-deh, doww! da-dunt, da-dunt,
    etc.

  3. These are such odd lyrics, Sean. It references werewolves, and yet it is so heavy and somber. It’s rather bizarre and I totally like it. Turn it into a song! I’d love to hear it.

Leave a Reply

