“Flash-Poem” (on the fly…)

Ok, in true (undead)fashion, I am going to create a (probably bad) “flash-poem” (if there is such a term – if not, you heard it coined hear first, folks) right now, on the fly.

Hear goes…

I look into my mind’s eye,
and see visions from my past.
They’re blurry here, clearer there,
but never meant to last.
My father died ten years ago,
his death a tragic scene;
I never realized until now,
Just what his loss would mean.
My son was barely four years old,
but his memories are clear.
Although he knows how great dad was,
I still wish dad was here.
I need him now, more than I knew,
I would when he was living.
I have regrets of things I did,
and now am past forgiving.
I realize now, how wise he was,
how much he cared for us;
and know the time I had with him,
was very much a plus.
In closing out this simple verse,
I would like to say:
“I love you, dad, and always will;
we’ll meet again someday.”

Wow! That came out of nowhere and was somewhat of a surprise. It is all true, but I had no idea I would write about my dad.

Oh well, it is written and will now be posted.

Rhyme on!

About Tim Keeton

Flashfiction published by Seedpod Pub. Poetry appears in Read Write Poem 2010 Anthology. Founder & creator of the Undead Poets Society
This entry was posted in Poems, Poetry, UDPS and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

