Monster Prompt

“With an anxiety that almost amounted to agony, I collected the instruments of life around me, that I might infuse a spark of being into the lifeless thing that lay at my feet.” –Mary Shelly

Frankenstein

Alchemy of romance
Sewn by nimble fingers
Desire, conception, creation

Marrow, bones
Skeins of skin
Cryptic heart
Zapped to life
Abandoned

Born into darkness
Cradled by waves
Monster

We are all monsters

The last stanza is taken from a piece I’ve been working on for two years called ‘An Ode To Mary’. This poem is open to critique (still trying to figure out what works, what doesn’t and why). Thanks!

About Jodi MacArthur

I write omnivorous fiction.
This entry was posted in Poems, Poetry, UDPS and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Monster Prompt

  1. slpmartin says:

    As I read it and considered you last stanza…I wondered where was the love that intiated the whole project…not that I’m much of a critic but have you considered somehow weaving into the poem her love gone awry and what strange fruit it bore…just a random thought…enjoyed your poem.

    • Slpmartin- Could you clarify on ‘her love gone awry?’ Are you thinking of Mary Shelly herself? I’m not sure if this would work with the particular feel of the poem. Maybe the way Angel arranged it. It would work in the larger piece of work I’ve been working on. Thanks for your honest critique. I’ll think about it.

  2. Tim Keeton says:

    Jodi,

    I like this. Alchemy of romance / Sewn by nimble fingers nice.

    Born into darkness / Cradled by waves / Monster / We are all monsters

    Powerful.

    Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein was one of the saddest books I ever read. The sadness and pathos of the Creature was sooo intense. I couldn’t finish it for a while.

    Thanks for sharing this.

    • Tim- Thanks for pointing out the stanzas you liked. I almost erased the second line. Glad I didn’t. And I agree about Frankenstein. Like you, it took me awhile to get through the entire book because of the deep thoughts and intensity of emotion. I can honestly say it’s changed my life and also the way I write.

  3. Angel Zapata says:

    Made me sigh…in a very good way. Killer opening line. Really good. Only thing I would change is to delete the word “monster” just before the last line and maybe play with the arrangement:

    Alchemy of romance
    Born into darkness
    Cradled by waves

    Marrow, bones
    Skeins of skin
    Cryptic heart
    Zapped to life
    Abandoned

    Sewn by nimble fingers
    Desire, conception, creation

    We are all monsters

    You always rock, girl.

  4. So subjective, innit?
    This really gets to the deep depths, in so few words. I dig, Jodi.
    My only thought was to top off the first stanza with a single word, to match with the second and third. Not sure what, but it could be nice.

    • Tim Keeton says:

      Topping off the first stanza with a single word could be done like this:

      Alchemy of romance
      Sewn by nimble fingers
      Desire, conception
      Creation

    • Margo- I’m glad you sensed the depth I was going for. And I agree about topping off the first stanza with a single word. I rearranged it several times before I finally posted it and messed around with several words. The hardest part was coming up for the right adjective for heart. All the words that first came to mind completely threw the rhythm (as I perceived it) off. I’ll take what everyone here has said and work on it.

Leave a Reply

