The Undead – (for Writer’s Digest – Poetic Asides “Monster Prompt” 088)

Posted this Thursday, May 13, 2010 3:53:28 AM (GMT Daylight Time, UTC+01:00) on Writer’s Digest’s Poetic Asides by Robert Lee Brewer

Robert said, “For this week’s prompt, pick a monster, make that the title of your poem, and then write the poem. Possible titles: “Frankenstein’s Monster,” “Dracula,” “Grover,” “Hitler,” etc. Or perhaps, you have a personal monster, which could be a person, an addiction, an event, etc.”

Here was my offering:

The Undead

Yearning, burning,
crawling, itching,
unpleasant sensation,
in my core;
nothing stops it;
one thing soothes it;
I do not want this life,
anymore.

I see the bluish-purple,
throbbing; I hear the,
careless beat it makes;
to ease my craving,
nothing matters;
I’ll do whatever deed it takes.

Pearlescent sharpness,
rubies glistening,
streaming glissando of,
life-stealing pleasure;
there’s only so much,
but I’ll have it all;
drain you to your,
fullest measure.

And now to sleep,
perchance to dream
(I think I’ve heard that
line before);
temporarily sated,
pain abated,
until I wake at night,
once more.

So stranger, if you find me,
sleeping,
pray for me, I beg you please,
I needs must end,
my mournful weeping,
you’re the cure, and I
disease.

Tim Keeton
(Undead)Poet / Wizard / Teller-of-tales

About Tim Keeton

Flashfiction published by Seedpod Pub. Poetry appears in Read Write Poem 2010 Anthology. Founder & creator of the Undead Poets Society
This entry was posted in Poems, Poetry, UDPS and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Undead – (for Writer’s Digest – Poetic Asides “Monster Prompt” 088)

  1. I like this a lot, Tim. I’m working on my own and reading this makes it no easier. I like how the “I” in the final stanza becomes something other than the usual 1st person pronoun. I also like the speaker trying to recollect ‘sleep perchance to dream’ but memory failing.

    • Tim Keeton says:

      No worries, mate! Just get your monster on!

      My poetry of late has tended to be quick rough, first (and only) drafts that are done on the fly. Probably not my best work, but fun nevertheless.

      Rhyme on!

  2. This is a first draft?? Can I just say: Wowza. Leaves me feeling sick, in the best way.

  3. Tim Keeton says:

    Methinks the lady doth protest too much…but thanks!

    Maybe I’m like Fezzik from The Princess Bride, because I often tend to think in rhyme. I love free-verse and prose poems as well, but it is usually easier for me to come up with rhyming verse (maybe it is all that Shakespeare and 18th and 19th century poetry I dig?).

    But thank you again for the compliment!

  4. Jodi MacArthur says:

    FIRST draft. Wow. Hadn’t realized that. You’re a brave person, Tim.
    Very cool poem. And what a fun prompt.
    This stanza got me

    Pearlescent sharpness,
    rubies glistening,
    streaming glissando of,
    life-stealing pleasure;

    Really REALLY like that.

  5. Tim Keeton says:

    Brave? I don’t know, Procrastinator and Lazy come more to my mind… 😉
    Also, sometimes I don’t feel right editing a poem, particularly if it is one that came in a flurry of creative passion (not necessarily this one, but you know what I mean).
    Thanks, Jodi. That’s my favorite stanza as well.
    I love it when the sound and meaning of words and language come together to paint the scene.

    I also liked being able to rhyme “fullest measure” to “pleasure”.

    Pearlescent sharpness,
    rubies glistening,
    streaming glissando of,
    life-stealing pleasure;
    there’s only so much,
    but I’ll have it all;
    drain you to your,
    fullest measure.

  6. Batty says:

    How many different ways can I say WOW?! You’ve got great stuff here, really enjoyed your poem.

  7. Tim Keeton says:

    Thank you! It is kind of you to say so.

Leave a Reply

