Ed (on Lisa) – A View From the “Other Side” (via a Cleave Poem*)

Silent, stalking, ever watching,________________ Burning hunger, never ceasing,
in the shadows to the right.__________________ in my being, in my veins;
Did I see you, are you real?__________________ I see you walking at night,
Or a trick of the light?______________________ Reward me for my pains.

Power pulses from your being,_______________ Waves of hunger, washing over,
never loses, never lost.____________________ can’t control this feeling hot;
Always creeping, plotting, seething,___________ I slink through the shadows, stealthy,
to collect whatever cost.___________________ I must have what you have got.

Graceful, chilling, see you smiling,____________ See me now, my leering grimace,
reaching forward bony hand.________________ I reach out to grasp you now.
Is it to me that you beckon?________________ Come to me now; feed my hunger.
Will this be my one last stand?______________ Don’t pause to think; don’t ask how.

Oh Dear Ed, I rush forward,_________________ Yes, my love, come to me now,
and throw myself into your care.______________ give yourself completely to me.
For whatever waits me after,________________ Let dark oblivion take you;
with you near, I hold no fear.________________ Now at last, you finally see.

What’s that, Ed? You say you’re leaving?_______ Fully sated, dawn will soon break,
Yeah it’s been fun, but gotta go?_____________ soon you will pass into the night.
You can’t leave me! Not forever!_____________ Do not cling to me! You cannot!
I’ve given you my very soul._________________Dear, I care nothing for your plight.

Ed may be all that I’ve mentioned,___________ As you’re sinking, I take my leave,
collecting on the master plan._______________ I know you were my biggest fan.
But one thing is true above all others,________ I feel I must tell you; you need to know,
Ed is really just a man.___________________ I have never been a man.

    *”The cleave form is two poems fusing to become a third new poem. Each poem can stand alone, a true poem in its own right. In its most basic form the cleave poem is a vertical stanza on the left hand side, a vertical stanza on the right hand side, and a third horizontal poem which is read straight across from left to right, as though there is no gap between the left and right vertical stanzas. The cleave form is a contranym: at once a fusion of two poems to form one, and a splitting apart of one poem to form two.” (Paraphrased slightly from Phuoc-Tan Diep)

Tim Keeton
(Undead)Poet / Wizard / Teller-of-tales

About Tim Keeton

Flashfiction published by Seedpod Pub. Poetry appears in Read Write Poem 2010 Anthology. Founder & creator of the Undead Poets Society
This entry was posted in Poems, Poetry, UDPS and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Ed (on Lisa) – A View From the “Other Side” (via a Cleave Poem*)

  1. lisagailgreen says:

    Tim you’re a genius.

  2. Tim Keeton says:

    Blush– Aw shucks, m’am… t’weren’t nothin’.

    If you’ll notice, I did try to mirror your same form and syllable count, though.

    Thank you for allowing me to play with your creation. I am honored that you liked the result.

  3. What a lovely, twisted duet. Longing… contentment… betrayal… you’ve got it all! On Facebook, this relationship would be the epitome of “It’s complicated.”

  4. Jodi MacArthur says:

    I am unfamiliar with this poetic ‘cleave’ form. Fascinating to have the two pov’s teeter totter like that with the same timing and beat. Creepy and compelling.
    Very cool you two.

    • Tim Keeton says:

      I became acquainted with the form as a ReadWritePoem NaPoWriMo prompt this past April, and became a fan.

      I was going to just post a responsive poem, but thought, “Hmm, what about turning this into a cleave poem?”

      I am going to play more and more with the form. Glad you liked it.

  5. I’ve seen only a few cleaves, though I knew them as diptych poems. It’s a great form because the real beauty of cleave/diptych poems is that you’re writing 3 poems in one. Quite a challenge, and you’ve done wonderful stuff with it. Homerun…touchdown…GOOOOOAAALLLLL!!!!

  6. Batty says:

    This is brilliant! Your words just flow perfectly and make complete sense, such a complex, witty duet

  7. Pingback: “Cleave-Fib” Poetry Challenge from the (Undead)Poets « Tim Keeton – A Writer's Tale

  8. Pingback: Wednesday’s #undeadpoets Challenge “Cleave-Fib” | Undead Poets Society

Leave a Reply

