Ode to Ed

Silent, stalking, ever watching,
in the shadows to the right.
Did I see you, are you real?
Or a trick of the light?

Power pulses from your being,
never loses, never lost.
Always creeping, plotting, seething,
to collect whatever cost.

Graceful, chilling, see you smiling,
reaching forward bony hand.
Is it to me that you beckon?
Will this be my one last stand?

Oh Dear Ed, I rush forward,
and throw myself into your care.
For whatever waits me after,
with you near, I hold no fear.

What’s that, Ed? You say you’re leaving?
Yeah it’s been fun, but gotta go?
You can’t leave me! Not forever!
I’ve given you my very soul.

Ed may be all that I’ve mentioned,
collecting on the master plan.
But one thing is true above all others,
Ed is really just a man.

About Lisa Gail Green

Lisa Gail Green would definitely have a werewolf for a pet if she weren't allergic. Visit her at LisaGailGreen.com to learn more about SOUL CROSSED (Feb. 25, 2015) and her other work.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ode to Ed

  1. Jodi MacArthur says:

    Oh, Ed. You undead man, you.

    Lisa, this whole poem is a tightrope with humor to the left and horror to the right. I think it tipped the scales to horror with “You can’t leave me! Not forever!
    I’ve given you my very soul.”

    Fantastic Ode To Ed. Long live Ed!

    • lisagailgreen says:

      Wow! Thanks for the awesome review, I feel like it needs to be on the back of a book jacket or something.

  2. Tim Keeton says:

    Lisa,

    Please see “Ed’s” viewpoint…

Leave a Reply

