Welcome Charter Member, Sarah Kemp!

Sarah sent me some really, “wow”, stuff! I am definitely looking forward to her posting it here in the very near future (particularly the excerpts from the longer WIP).

As my perogative, I have selected one of her offerings to post as her debut as a Charter Member of the UDPS. Enjoy!

The Wolf’s Lament

“If I could marry Little Red Riding Hood, I’d be the happiest man in the world.” –Charles Dickens

    The forest stilled at noon,
    Eyeless but seeing with the skin,
    A blind child poised to love.
    I would never dare undress your face

    But I will make you ready to be lost,
    Sweet words and no war paint,
    Showing you the way into the earth.
    I watch your hands turn red, and freeze

    Around the dandelions.
    All of me is eyes for you,
    And even now I see us wed.
    How well I will drape around your shoulders.

    I can see you, I the brute thing,
    Foul-blooded, suckling mist.
    You could find me now, and raise the cry,
    Or put your tiny naked hand in mine,

    Or turn the corner,
    See me chewing rust,
    Lay me down, reveal your face
    And remark upon my teeth.

Sarah is now entitled to display the coveted UDPS Charter Member logo on her site, etc., and has Author rights to post verse and images to her heart’s content on the UDPS site! Only Two more coveted Charter Member spots are available. After that, we will still accept (Undead)Poets, but we will have met our (Undead)Lucky 13 Charter Members! There is still time, so “joooiiinnn usss”!

Charter Member UDPS Badge

Rhyme on!

About Tim Keeton

Flashfiction published by Seedpod Pub. Poetry appears in Read Write Poem 2010 Anthology. Founder & creator of the Undead Poets Society
This entry was posted in Charter Membership, Poems, Poetry, UDPS and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Welcome Charter Member, Sarah Kemp!

  1. I’m speechless. WOW. Can’t even chose a favorite line, I love the whole damn thing. In awe people who can write like this. Looking forward to more of your work.

Leave a Reply

